Co-Rec Flag Football Fall 1999

The Norman Pheeny's

Robin Black, Maximo Cabral, Victor Cruz, Dwayne Evans, Jaime Fourmy,
Jon Glickler, Shawn Kittredge, Maricela Oceguera, Christine O'Grady,
Emmanuel Ortega, Cheryl Ramirez, Dan Rimerman, Ana Shapiro

Championship Game Summary
The Norman Pheeny's 23, Pierpont Patriots 13

This years Co-Rec championship was played between The Norman Pheeny’s and the Pierpont Patriots. Both teams had easy paths to the final as both won their semifinal game by forfeit. The first half was a defensive battle. Finally, with 7 minutes left in the half, Pheeny started to drive the ball. Pheeny was on second and goal and poised to score until the Patriots’ Michael Antico intercepted a Dan Rimerman pass and returned it for the only touchdown of the period. Patriots 7-0 at the half.

Pheeny regrouped and tied the score on a Rimerman to John Glickler sideline pass to begin the second half. The Patriots then drove the ball and were about to score when Max Cabral intercepted an ill-advised pass. Pheeny’s next possession was full of spectacular catches. Maricela Oceguera going across the middle made the first one. Then, on a pivotal third down, it was Ana Shapiros shoe-string grab while on the run for a first down. Rimerman then hit Christine 0’ Grady for a score. Pheeny was now up 17-7. The Patriots answered right back as Antico scored making it 17-13. Rimerman and Shawn Kittredge then connected on the hook & ladder to make it 23-13.

The Patriots tried tying the game but were stopped due to the defensive pressure of Victor Cruz. The Norman Pheeny’s were led on offense by Rimerman who threw 2 touchdowns and scored 1; Oceguera, who made crucial catches down the stretch, and Glickler; and 0'Grady who each had a touchdown. Their defense was led by Cabral and Rimerman who each had 2 interceptions and Cruz and Shapiro who provided the defensive pressure on the Patriots necessary to win the game

Pierpont Patriots

Michael Antico, Natalie Black, Michael Brommelhoff, Michael Frank,
Elizabeth Froment, Henry Hayes, Matthew Hunter, Julie-Ann Mina, Blair Owren, Tim Santos