Men's Flag Football Fall 1997


Championship Game Summary
Crackheads 33, Team Shank 6

The Intramural flag football championship brought two undefeated teams together for what was billed as the November offensive clash of the titans. Crackheads bruised teams during league play and outscored opponents 173-30. During the playoffs, Crackheads beat four teams (Ball Busters 58-8, Alpha Chi Rho 27-18. Sigma Phi Epsilon 26-12 and United Nations 23-20) to advance to the championship.

Their opponent in the final, Team Shank, also won their league in grand style by outscoring opponents 104-34. Team Shank had a more rigorous road to the championship with playoff wins over VIP's 34-13, Team Fritz 26-25. Jokers 19-13, Hoadley's Heroes 22-20 and The Team 21-19.

In the final, Crackheads scored first on a 15-yard touchdown pass by offensive leader and quarterback Michael Ream. Team Shank was not daunted and answered with a long drive that ended with a 10-yard touchdown run by Jared Wulfow. Team Shank looked to be in control when they stopped Crackheads in four, got the ball back and put together a second length-of-the field, time consuming drive that put them on the one yard line. However, on the first play from scrimmage, Crackheads Ben Andrews intercepted a pass to kill that scoring drive. Crackheads promptly drove the length of the field and definitely had their opportunities to score. But each time they threatened the goal-line, Crackheads made a huge stop.

Defensive standout Andrews picked off two more Team Shank passes and Scott Tarka had another interception. Tarka later showed some dazzling offensive moves as he took a pass from Ream on the Team Shank 10 yard line, broke a couple of "flag" tackles and scampered into the endzone. Crackheads later put one more score across the goal line and, in the end, ran away with a 33-6 victory to cap a stellar 10-0 season.

Team Shank
(Photo not available)

Geoffrey Loconte, Len Davis, Omar Elmi, Ryan Hellyar, Adam Levy,
Rodney Lartney-Otoo, Michael Megpian, Lamar McKay, Charles Cronin,
Matthew Weinshank, Laurence Klein, Jared Wulfow