Men's Flag Football Fall 1994

Next? (Champions)
(Photo not available)

Brian Allen, Greg Blake, Jeff Worthley, Lajaune Harvey, Marc Cousins, Chris Hunter, Joe Malcolm, Rod Rucker, Keith Parrett, Frank Swift

Championship Game Summary
Next? 26, Crack House 20

Fifty-five teams started the 1994 Men's Intramural Flag Football Playoffs dreaming of playing in the finals. Five rounds later, two teams had made it: Next? and The Crack House. QB Dave Veratti led Crack House to a score on the first drive of the game but missed the crucial point-after conversion.

Crack House forced Next? to punt on their first drive. Immediately thereafter, Dave Veratti was intercepted by Joe Malcolm. Setting the stage for Next? QB Rod Rucker's option right to Lajuane Harvey to tie the score. Jeff Worthley scored the PAT on a left counter to take the lead.

In the second half, Next? surged ahead on Joe Malcolm's second interception and two TD tosses by Rod Rucker, including a long bomb to Chris Hunter. Facing a 20-6 deficit, Veratti rallied his team and marched down the field. Veratti connected with Jason Pray on a first and goal pass and then completed the 2-point PAT to narrow the gap to 20-14. In a huge defensive stance, Crack House took possession on downs with one minute left. Veratti did it the hard way and ran in the tying touchdown. The PAT was unsuccessful and Next? took over with seconds left in regulation.

Rod Rucker was intercepted and Crack House had one more try at the endzone as time ran out. Crack House won the toss to begin the sudden death over time. Each team had 4 downs to score from the 10 yard line. Keith Parrett caught Dave Veratti on two huge sacks and Crack House failed to score. Rod Rucker was denied on his first two attempts but he finally connected on a quick slant-in pass to Chris Hunter to win the game, 26-20.

The Crack House