Co-Rec Dodgeball Spring 2009

Rhymin' & Stealin'
(Alphabetical): Daniel Abrams, Sydney Adams, Kathryn Keefe,
Corey Mulvehill, Stephanie Sorgi, Patrick Tenero

Championship Game Summary
Rhymin' & Stealin' 4, Broskis 2

This year’s co-rec dodgeball tournament entertained a field of nine teams competing in pool play with the top six teams advancing to single-elimination playoffs. In the end, Rhymin’ & Stealin’ and Broskis met in the championship. Both teams were undefeated in pool play and earned a first round bye in the playoffs for their #1 seed. In one semifinal, Broskis swept D-Ballers for the second time after sweeping them in the final round of pool play. In the other semifinal, Rhymin’ and Stealin’ swept the other first place team, Faswasons, in convincing fashion to set up the final. Not one game in the final was decided prior to the five-minute regulation rule.

In the first game, Broskis edged Rhymin’ & Stealin’with a four-to-one player advantage. Rhymin’ & Stealin’ trailed all game, but used many regenerations to keep toeing the line of defeat. In the second game, Rhymin’ & Stealin’were ready to even the score. Pat Tenero got it started by pegging Zach Achin in the opening seconds. Alex Appel was able to bring a Broski back (Like that? Bring a Broski back!) to the court after catching an opponent’s throw. But it wasn’t enough as Rhymin’ & Stealin’ had one more player left on the floor after five minutes.

The third and final game lived up to its potential as all six players for both teams were knocked out at least once throughout the game. In the waning seconds, Stephanie Sorgi of Rhymin’ & Stealin’ and Tamir Perelman of Broskis made last-ditch efforts at the basket bonanza for the win. Neither prevailed and game three ended tied 4-4.

This meant overtime! After winning the coin toss, Rhymin’ & Stealin’ chose their player, Dan Abrams. Broskis countered with Zach Watson. After two ‘square of doom’ overtimes that were too close to call, the officials decided to settle the match with a 6v6, five-minute overtime. The overtime was tied at three players each for much of the five minutes. Corey Mulvehill’s catch put Rhymin’ & Stealin’ up 4-2 with a lead they would not relinquish. Rhymin’ & Stealin’ captured the championship in thrilling fashion.


(Alphabetical): Zachary Achin, Alexander Appel, Kevin Connolly,
Heather Fiato, Hannah Giovannucci, Lin Pei-Hsuan, Tamir Perelman,
Zachary Watson