Co-Rec Dodgeball Spring 2007

Moose Cross
Victoria Carroll, Joseph Collins, James DeStefano, Robert Danis, Lindsay Higgins, Laura Hughes, Kelsey Lupo, Colin McCullough, Tyler McCullough, Keela Shatzkin

Championship Summary
Moose Cross 2, Totally Ouch! 0

The 2007 intramural co-rec dodgeball tournament featured 14 teams for its inaugural season. Moose Cross, undefeated during pool play, took top spot in their pool to advance to the playoffs. Totally Ouch! finished second in their pool with a 2-1 record. In the playoffs, Totally Ouch!, playing with only 5 players for the tourney, won their first game by forfeit and nipped Dodge My Balls 2-1 in a hard-fought semifinal. Moose Cross easily handled Team Pterodactyl 2-0 and squeaked by Free Ballin’ 2-1 to advance to the final. In the final, Moose Cross came out strategically, as they had all tournament, with the “center rush sweep-back.” With balls from the center rush swept back to James DeStefano & Shane Danis, Moose Cross came out throwing. Tyler McCullough, using his famous “McCullough pump fake,” fooled a couple opponents into freezing so DeStefano and Danis could rain the kills. DeStefano, who led Moose Cross with key catches, was instrumental in motivating his team in previous matches when they were nearly beaten. Moose Cross prevailed in the 5-minute first game of the final. In the 2nd game of the final, it looked as if Totally Ouch! was going to tie the score of the match when they were up three players to one with a minute left in regulation. But, Moose Cross’s lone player, Joe Collins, staved off the loss by catching a ball, which brought back one of his players, and then threw a perfect bomb at Jenn Krawiec, whose attempt at deflection failed when the ball dropped from her hands. In the split seconds remaining in game two, Moose Cross ended up with three players in the game to Totally Ouch’s! Adrienne Mazza. Mazza was left alone on the court to see her team drop the second game and the match to Moose Cross in this thriller of a final.

Totally Ouch!

Andrew Galbois, Jennifer Krawiec, Kyle Johnson, Adrienne Mazza, Raymond Swartz,
Jacob Weindling