Co-Ed Softball Fall 2007

Team Ramrod

Joseph Bandini, Gabriela Baquerizo, Nicholas Holden, Amanda Hostetter, Mark Jackson, Stephen McLean, James Moriarty, Nicole Sarabia, Nesrin Sengul, Zachary Tomasio,
Tatiana Vaz

Championship Game Summary
Team Ramrod 17, McLovin 10

The co-ed championship was a matchup between two teams–Team Ramrod and McLovin-with some big bats. The game began with a bang as Team Ramrod’s Steve McLean led off with a double and scored two batters later with Nesrin Sengul’s base hit. McLovin responded with sensational power in their half of the first. Mike Kostopoulos, Nick Celularo & Brian Larson had back-to-back-to-back round trippers for the 3-1 lead. It took a pinpoint throw from the Ramrod centerfielder to gun down Adam Pogorzelski at the plate to end the inning. Both teams went quietly in the second inning. The bats were back on display in the 3rd when Team Ramrod plated six more runs, three of which came on a triple from Jim Moriarty. Moriarty would finish the game 4-4 with four RBI and three runs scored. McLovin came back with two runs in the 3rd, thanks in part to Celularo’s second homerun in as many at bats. In the 4th, Team Ramrod continued with their hot bats to extend their lead. Singles from Sengul and Joe Bandini set the stage for Zach Tomasio who cleared the bases with a homerun. Team Ramrod plated two more runs in the inning for the 12-5 lead. McLovin showed their resiliency in their turn at bat by sending all nine players to the plate and answering with five runs. The highlight of the inning was another big hit from Larson. His three-run triple with one out set the tone. RBI hits from Chelsea Trow and Pogorzelski added two more runs. Going to the final inning, the score stood at 12-10 in favor of Team Ramrod. Team Ramrod added insurance runs in the 5th. Thanks to five consecutive hits from spots four through eight in the lineup, Team Ramrod scored five more runs. Facing a seven-run deficit in the bottom of the 5th, McLovin may have sensed the inevitable. Team Ramrod shut McLovin down one-two-three in the inning to capture the 17-10 win and the championship.


Michael Bevilacqua, Karissa Cavicchi, Nicholas Celularo, Brian Cobb, Rebecca Harris, Michael Kostopoulos, Brian Larson, Jane Matousek, Adam Pogorzelski, Aurora Shahini, Ryanne Tannenbaum. Chelsea Trow, Ryan Werner