Co-Ed Softball Fall 2001

Softball Team

Matthew Ambros, Bradford Blanchette, Danielle Brown, Caroyln Clopeck, Thomas Feeley, Kristen George, Beth McDermott, Ryan McShera,
Emily Miller, Nikolas Outchcunis, Nicole Poulin, Kathryn Strazie,
Daniel Weaver, Katherine Weaver, Joseph Zapasnik

Championship Game Summary
Softball Team 9, Sigma Alpha Mu/Delta Zeta 8

Thirty two teams competed in fall co-ed softball, tying the number of active teams set back in 1989. Softball Team, 3-1 during league play, advanced to the championship with three playoff wins, while Sigma Alpha Mu/Delta Zeta, 4-0 in league play, advanced to the final also with three with playoff wins. For the second consecutive year, Softball Team captured the co-ed softball championship.

Key player Tom Feeley had two hits, two RBI and one run scored as Softball Team defeated Sigma Alpha Mu/Delta Zeta 9-8 in exciting style. Feeley gave his team a 1-0 lead in the first inning with a base hit. SAMMY/DZ responded promptly scoring four runs in the bottom of the second inning. Softball Team did its heavy scoring in the 3rd and 4th innings, scoring eight runs as the 3-7 hitters combined for ten hits and six runs. Softball Team’s scoring was capped off by hits from Nicole Poulin and Joe Zapasnik that turned out to be instrumental in the win. Softball Team closed out the championship behind strong pitching from Matt Ambros as he retired the side in the bottom of the fifth.

Sigma Delta Mu/Delta Zeta

Adam Blazar, Danta Carnevale, Kendrah Carroll, Joshua Eskow,
Jessica Falkin, Jillian Herman, Erica Jackowitz, Heather Klein, Justin Leaf, Nicole Menschel, Dave Molinaro, Shannon O'Reilly, Lauren Phaneuf,
Julie Rutter, Adam Silverman