Men's Basketball Spring 2012


Back Row:  Sam Murphy, Mark Proctor, Mike Doherty, Nicholas Edson, Rob Reid
Front Row:  Ryo Gokita, Nick Mazzeo, Kelton Gallant

Championship Game Summary
#SWAG 45, Pretty Nasty 31

On the fateful night of March 13, 2012 at the University of Massachusetts Recreation Center, two men’s basketball teams met on the middle court for the intramural championship. Last year’s champion Pretty Nasty looked better than ever and came in undefeated. Their opponent, #SWAG, had been eliminated last year by Pretty Nasty and was looking for revenge. Both teams reached the final with relative ease, and this game was a long time in the making.

The game was a defensive battle. Both teams had many big bodies that clogged up the middle. These big bodies were a great line of defense against the ultra quick guards from each team, Paris Amado and Ryo Gokita. After 10:00 minutes in the first half, the score was 4-4 --not exactly a barn burner. However, #SWAG's Gokita began to get on track. He knifed through the lane time and time again, scoring 8 of the first 10 points for #SWAG. His game to that point was swagtastic, to say the least.  With under two minutes in the half and the score tied at 10, Gokita committed a very ill-advised play by getting a technical foul. This gave momentum to Pretty Nasty, but unfortunately for them, it was the last bit of momentum they would enjoy.  #SWAG led 14-13 at the half.

#SWAG came out swagging to the fullest in the 2nd half and pounded the ball inside. Nick Edson got the ball on the post and did a beautiful up and under move for an and-one. He then continued to post up, making the capacity crowd shout “THROW IT DOWN BIG MAN.” #SWAG opened up on a 11-0 run and Pretty Nasty was all but sunk. Despite solid efforts from Pretty Nasty's Kyle Morrison and Kumar Davis, #SWAG was too tough inside. Gokita threw absolute darts to the big men inside, and Pretty Nasty never had an answer for it. With under 10:00 left in the half, Kelton Gallant put a dagger in the heart of Nasty with his third three-pointer to put #SWAG up by 11. Mark Proctor was blocking shots left and right, while Edson grabbed more rebounds than Shaquille O’Neal if the former Celtic had played against second graders. In the end Swag was just way too much for Nasty.  #SWAG captured the championship 45-31.

Pretty Nasty
(Photo Not Available)
(Alphabetical): Paris Amado, Luc Audate, Derek Beck, Kumar Davis, James Hayes,
Jahson Hollett, Justin McCarthy, Vernaldi Metayer, Benjamin Mohr, Kyle Morrison,
George Ramos, Marinos Vouvakis