Women's Basketball Spring 2010

The Nasty's

Back Row:  Courtney Mayerick, Katie Kelly, Alesha Widdall, Callie Sweigart
Front Row :  Nikki Panciocco, Jill Powers, Kara Charochak, Jaime Bourazeris, Elizabeth Karns


Championship Game Summary
The Nasty's 38, Lyte As a Rock 32

With a standing room only crowd, pregame music and an enthusiastic announcer, the final had the look and feel of the NCAA championship. The game featured two unbeaten teams, Lyte as a Rock and The Nasty’s. Each team rolled through their regular season schedule and dominated their playoff competition. In fact, The Nasty’s had only allowed a combined 26 points in their previous two postseason contests, including a 47-8 drubbing of their first round opponent.

Lyte as a Rock started the game on a torrid streak, running their lead to 8 points midway through the first half. They were led by Jame Shahna-Lee who finished with 14 points and two rebounds. Also contributing was Jusna Perrin who added 9 rebounds, three assists and one block. The Nasty’s began to hit their shots and closed the gap with a little under five minutes to go in the opening half.

It was all Nasty’s after the break, as they went on a run and tied the score two minutes into the half. On the backs of Jaime Bourazeris and Katie Kelly, who scored 11 and 9 points respectively, The Nasty’s built a strong lead. Bouzeri’s and Kelly’s combined 14 steals also held Lyte As a Rock at bay. While they would eventually fight back and make it a six-point game, it was not meant to be and The Nasty’s held on down the stretch to secure the title, winning 38-32.

Lyte As a Rock
(Alphabetical): Anim Aweh, Sabrina Centeio, Amenze-Francess Enoma, Janelle Hullum, Jennifer Pearl Melifonwu, Jusna Perrin, Shahna-Lee James