Men's Basketball Spring 2010

Can't Get It Right Boyz

Back Row:  Warren Wilson, Alan Williams, Tyler Holmes, Robert McLaughlin, Kyle Havens
Front Row:  Shayne Viveiros, Dominique Price, James Carven


Championship Game Summary
Can't Get It Right Boyz 44, The Doonies 38

The men’s intramural basketball championship featured two athletic teams -- Can’t Get It Right Boyz and The Doonies.  Can’t Get It Right Boyz, having won their five playoff games by a 16-point per game margin and taken down defending champion Legends of Boyden in the quarterfinals, looked like a team on a mission in the finals at the new Recreation Center.  The Doonies were recipients of a “mercy rule” victory in their semifinal.  Can’t Get It Right Boyz began quickly with a 6-0 run behind short jump shots. The Doonies countered quickly, with Chris Celoa scoring their first six points to keep the game close.  The Doonies did a good job to slow down their athletic competitor and limit the fastbreak opportunities.  The Doonies could not get into any offensive rhythm and ended the half down six, 20-14.

The second half began well for The Doonies, who went on a 21-9 run.  With eleven minutes left, they took a 35-29 lead on Steve Zerneri’s floater -- two of his nine points on the night.  Unfortunately, the lead would soon evaporate.  Can’t Get It Right Boyz surged forward, riding the backs of Alan Williams and Dominique Price, who scored 11 and 13 points respectively.  Their best shots of the night were the three-pointers, which started to fall late in the second half and helped them prevail in their comeback.  Can’t Get It Right Boyz went on a 14-0 run late in the second half to take a 43-35 lead with about a minute in regulation.  The Doonies struggled from the field late in the second half, going scoreless for an agonizing eight minutes. In the end, Can’t Get It Right Boyz took the title in a well-played, defensive basketball game. 

The Doonies
(Alphabetical): Paul Alshooler, Christopher Celona, Jeffrey Chen, John Dufault, John Robinson, Michael Sinn, Nicholas Smatt, Michael Soper, Steven Zerneri