Co-Rec Basketball Spring 2010

The Dixon Chicks

Back Row:  Patrick Donohue, Jeffrey Frederiksen, Andrew Hantzis, John Shea, Michael Whitehouse
Front Row:  Catherine McNamara, Kelly McGovern, Carly Famulari,
Morgan Braun


Championship Game Summary
Dixon Chicks 46, CBS 34

This year’s co-rec basketball championship was both historic and exciting. The game meant the first-ever intramural basketball game in the new Rec Center. The game pitted two powerhouses in the Dixon Chicks and CBS.  It was the Dixon Chicks who jumped out to an early 11-2 lead, supported by a stellar first half performance from Catherine McNamara and Jeff Fredeiksen.  CBS made several attempts to get their offense going but the Dixon Chicks tight defense kept CBS from putting points on the board.  Back and forth action for the remainder of the first half left the score 22-10 at the break in favor of the Dixon Chicks.  The Dixon Chicks rode Catherine McNamara’s strong eight-point performance.  CBS’s Meg O’Malley also scored eight points to do her part to keep pace with the Dixon Chicks. 

The first five minutes of the second half saw both teams making baskets, which allowed the Dixon Chicks to keep a 12-point lead at 28-16.  CBS was not able to find their groove on either offense or defense.  The Dixon Chicks sprinted to a 35-18 lead with about ten minutes left in the game.  Nick DeChillo and Paige Kelley began knocking down shots for CBS to make it closer, but in the end it wasn’t the Dixon Chicks offense, but their defense which held off CBS’s pressure.  The Dixon Chicks prevailed 46-34.  McNamara led the Dixon Chicks with 16 points, while a solid 10-point performance from Malley led CBS.

(Alphabetical): Agbayani Aurelio Anjulei, Nicholas DeChillo, Nick Delaney, Christine Foley, Alexandra Kelley, Paige Kelley, Stephanie Miller, Meghan O’Malley, Daniel Smith