Men's Basketball Spring 2008

The Fighting Katie Gripko's

John Baillieul, John Dacyczyn, Ryan James, Tyler Macarelli, Matthew Messer,
Paul Nartiff, Mark Noonan, Liam O'Reilly, Kevin Seetal

Championship Game Summary
The Fighting Katie Gripko's 49, The Jamal Crawford Experience 40

The men's championship pitted The Fighting Katie Gripko's against the Jamal Crawford Experience. The Fighting Katie Gripko's went 3-1 in league play with their loss coming against The Big Tymers. The Jamal Crawford Experience, on the other hand, came through the regular season unblemished at 4-0. In the playoffs, The Fighting Katie Gripko's outscored their opponents by an average of 22 points per game. The Jamal Crawford experience advanced to the championship with equally impressive wins, albeit a little closer in score. From the start of the final, most pundits thought this would be a close one, and it was. The teams traded baskets for most of the first half. Good defense by both teams caused the offenses to struggle. The Jamal Crawford Experience hit back-to-back threes to take a short-lived lead. Fighting for the boards under the basket, Gripko's John Dacyczyn drew shooting fouls from Roland Claudomir and Danny Smith. Dacyczyn made two of four free throws. The game was a nail-biter for the rest of the 1st half and into the second half.

The game remained close in the 2nd half, as both teams once again worked hard on both ends of the floor.  The Fighting Katie Gripko's took control late in the second half. A solid pick from Kevin Seetal set captain Ryan James free for a wide open trey. James was key for his team from the arc. With time winding down in the 2nd half, Jamal Crawford needed to force some turnovers and ratchet up the scoring. With five minutes left to play, Jamal's big men Caludomir and Taylor fouled out, making it difficult for Jamal Crawford to control the paint & boards. The Katie Gripko's went to the free throw line consistently as Jamal Crawford was forced to foul. The Gripko's were solid from the free throw line and went on to win the men's championship 49-40. For the Jamal Crawford Experience, offensive kudos go to Taylor with teammates Ryan Bjorn and Jacob Smith adding a dominating presence in the key. Paul Nartiff led all scorers for the Fighting Katie Gripko's with 18 points.

The Jamal Crawford Experience

(Photo not available)
Ryan Bjorn, Joshua Burke, Roland Claudomir, Samuel Levy, Joseph Simone,
Daniel Smith, Jacob Smith, Daniel Taylor