Men's Basketball Spring 2007


Francisco Bastardo, Lesley Charles, Daniel Francois, Michael Garcia, Jason Jimenez,
Alexis Mongo, Felix Okonkwo, Danny Soto, Kenneth Summers-Lewis,
Guy-Andy Toussaint, Andrew Walker

Championship Game Summary
Controversy 48, The Classics 47

The basketball season came to an exciting conclusion as Controversy and The Classics squared off for the championship. Chris Langseth got The Classics off to a hot start, scoring his team's first five points. Controversy's Alexis Mongo scored nine first half points and would not let his team fall too far behind. Led by solid post play from Langseth and good defense from Greg Franck, The Classics kept pace with Controversy. The Classics took a 20-18 halftime lead on a three from Ben Bover right before time expired.

The second half remained just as close as the first half, as both teams tried to establish an offensive rhythm. Lengseth continued to lead his team and would finish with 17 points and 10 rebounds. Not to be outdone, Controversy's Kenji Summers (20 points, 3 rebounds, 4 assists, 2 steals) made plays throughout to keep the game tight. The Classics had their largest lead of the game halfway through the second half. Franck collected a critical offensive rebound & put it back in for a 32-25 lead. Summers lead Controversy back into the game with his stellar play. Controversy's Andrew Walker tied the game at 36 with a layup. Both teams alternated free throws for another tie at 38. With time running out, Controversy's Mike Garcia had a chance to win the game, but his shot at the buzzer was long to send the game into overtime.

In the extra session, The Classics took an early lead with baskets by Langseth and Jim Tatarzycki, who contributed 10 points. Once again, Controversy would not go away and, sparked by a Mongo trey and a clutch hook by Felix Okonkwo, went on a quick 7-0 run to take the lead. Late in the overtime with The Classics trailing 47-44, Franck drove the lane and was fouled as his shot went into the net. Franck sank the free throw to tie the game at 47 with less than 30 seconds to play. Controversy's Walker held for the final shot and was fouled with 2.6 seconds to play. Walker hit one of two free throws to clinch the championship for Controversy as a heave by The Classics at the buzzer fell short.

The Classics

Benjamin Bover, Brian Cammarata, Gregory Franck, Christopher Frank,
Christopher Langseth, Adam Stackhouse, James Tatarzycki