Skip Navigation
UMass Amherst Back to LLC Site

Asian Languages and Literatures, Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures

People

People

Faculty   |   Graduate Students   |   Staff   |   Whom should I contact?

Faculty

Chinese Program 中国语言文学

Japanese Program 日本語・日本文学

Elena Suet-Ying Chiu
Assistant Professor
Undergraduate Advisor of Chinese for student last name begins with A-L
Chinese Honors Program Director
Office: Herter 333
Phone: (413) 545-5840
E-mail: chiu@llc.umass.edu

Bruce Baird
Associate Professor
Office: Herter 717
Phone: (413) 577-4992
E-mail: baird@umass.edu

*On sabbatical till Fall14

Yi Feng
Lecturer
Office: Herter 515
Phone: (413) 545-4957
E-mail: yif@asianlan.umass.edu

Doris G. Bargen
Professor
Japanese Honors Program Director
Office: Herter 439
E-mail: dgbargen@asianlan.umass.edu

Yu Liu
Lecturer
Office: Herter 530
Phone: (413) 545-6684
E-mail: liuyu@asianlan.umass.edu

Stephen M. Forrest
Senior Lecturer
Undergraduate Advisor of Japanese for student last name begins with A-L

Exchange Program Director (Japanese)
Office: Herter 441
Phone: (413) 545-4950
E-mail: sforrest@asianlan.umass.edu

David K. Schneider
Assistant Professor
Undergraduate Advisor (Chinese) for students last name start with M-Z
Office: Herter 442
Phone: (413) 545-4954
E-mail: dkschneider@asianlan.umass.edu

Mako Koyama-Hartsfield
Lecturer
Office: Herter 335
Phone: (413) 545-4958
E-mail: mako@llc.umass.edu

Zhongwei Shen
Professor
Exchange Program Director (Chinese)

Linguistics & Chinese Joint Major Director
Office: Herter 338
Phone: (413) 545-4952
E-mail: zwshen@asianlan.umass.edu

Stephen Miller
Associate Professor

Program Director, Asian Languages & Literatures
Office: Herter 336
Phone: (413) 545-0208
E-mail: smiller@asianlan.umass.edu

Zhijun Wang
Assistant Professor
Office: Herter 337
Phone: (413) 545-4948
E-mail: zhijunw@asianlan.umass.edu

Amanda Seaman
Associate Professor

Graduate Program Director (Japanese)
Office: Herter 438
Phone: (413) 545-6679
E-mail: acseaman@asianlan.umass.edu

Enhua Zhang
Assistant Professor
Graduate Program Director (Chinese)
Office: Herter 340
Phone: (413) 545-4946
E-mail: ezhang@llc.umass.edu

Yasuko Shiomi
Lecturer
Office: Herter 317
Phone: (413) 545-4965
E-mail: yshiomi@asianlan.umass.edu

 

 

Reiko Sono
Senior Lecturer
Undergraduate Advisor (Japanese) for students last name start with M-Z
Office: Herter 331
Phone: (413) 545-4947
E-mail: rsono@asianlan.umass.edu

 

 

 

Yuki Yoshimura
Lecturer
Language Program Coordinator (Japanese)

Linguistics & Japanese Joint Major Director
Office: Herter 329
Phone: (413) 545-4953
E-mail: yuki@asianlan.umass.edu

Korean Program 韓国語

Chan Young Park
Five College Lecturer
Office: Herter 525
Phone: (413) 545-6673
E-mail: cypark@llc.umass.edu

Scott Mehl
Visiting Lecturer
Office: Herter 717
Phone: (413) 577-4992
E-mail: smehl@asianlan.umass.edu

Adjunct Faculty and Associated Faculty

E. Bruce Brooks
Research Professor
Mailing Address: Goodell Building
Phone: (413) 584-1810
E-mail: ebrooks@research.umass.edu
Sharon Domier
East Asian Studies
Office: Library #2249
Phone: (413) 577-2633
Email: sdomier@library.umass.edu
Sigrid Schmalzer
Associate Professor
Office: Herter 631
Phone: (413) 545-6776
Email: sigrid@history.umass.edu
Stephen R. Platt
Associate Professor
Office: Herter 636
Phone: (413) 545-2785
Email: platt@history.umass.edu

Staff

Main Office
Graduate Program
Office: Herter 440
Phone: (413) 545-0886
Fax: (413)545-4975
E-mail: office@asianlan.umass.edu
Mary Ellen White Maynard
Undergraduate Program Office
Office: Herter 418
Phone: (413) 545-2807
E-mail: maynard@umass.edu
Sharon Domier
East Asian Studies Librarian
Office: Library #2249
Phone: (413) 577-2633
E-mail: sdomier@library.umass.edu
 

Emeritus Faculty

Alvin P. Cohen
Professor, Emeritus
Chisato Kitagawa
Professor, Emeritus
Donald Gjertson
Professor, Emeritus
William E. Naff
Professor, Emeritus

Graduate Students

Degree Name Email adderss
Chinese (MA) Conrad William Bauer cbauer@asianlan.umass.edu
Chinese (MA) Thomas C Burns tcburns@student.umass.edu
Chinese (MA) Ying Cai yingcai@umass.edu
Chinese (MA) Jimmy J Chien cchien@student.umass.edu
Chinese (MA) Yue Deng yued@asianlan.umass.edu
Chinese (MA) Carl Jared Hebert cjhebert@umass.edu
Chinese (MA) Katherine G Holtrop kholtrop@umass.edu
Chinese (MA) Xinyuan Hu xhu@student.umass.edu
Chinese (MA) Betty M. Leung bleung@asianlan.umass.edu
Chinese (MA) Danni Li danni@asianlan.umass.edu
Chinese (MA) Jiani Lian jianilian@asianlan.umass.edu
Chinese (MA) Lin Lin linl@asianlan.umass.edu
Chinese (MA) Qingli Liu qingli@asianlan.umass.edu
Chinese (MA) Xiangxi Liu xliu@student.umass.edu
Chinese (MA) Yan P Liu ypliu@asianlan.umass.edu
Chinese (MA) Shuiying Lu slu@asianlan.umass.edu
Chinese (MA) Liyan Luo liyan@asianlan.umass.edu
Chinese (MA) Alexander P McCartin apmccartin@asianlan.umass.edu
Chinese (MA) Sijia Niu sniu@asianlan.umass.edu
Chinese (MA) Fuyang Peng fuyang@asianlan.umass.edu
Chinese (MA) Hui Sha hsha@asianlan.umass.edu
Chinese (MA) Haijing Tong haijing@educ.umass.edu
Chinese (MA) Shaofang Wang shaofang@asianlan.umass.edu
Chinese (MA) Xiao Yu xiaoyu@umass.edu
Chinese (MA) Kun Yue kyue@asianlan.umass.edu
Chinese (MA) Mengwu Yun mengwuyun@asianlan.umass.edu
Chinese (MA) Linjiao Zeng zeng@acad.umass.edu
Chinese (MA) Feiran Zhang feiranzhang@asianlan.umass.edu
Chinese (MA) Mingjia Zhang mingjiazhang@umass.edu
Chinese (MA) Wanwan Zhou wzhou@asianlan.umass.edu
Japanese (MA) Elizabeth T Adenegan eadenega@asianlan.umass.edu
Japanese (MA) Craig R Baylis cbaylis@asianlan.umass.edu
Japanese (MA) Matthew Robinson Bird mbird@umass.edu
Japanese (MA) Elizabeth A Bushouse ebushouse@asianlan.umass.edu
Japanese (MA) Karrie N Collins kcollins@student.umass.edu
Japanese (MA) Eric D Fischbach efischba@asianlan.umass.edu
Japanese (MA) Kinji Ito kito@asianlan.umass.edu
Japanese (MA) Yue Jiao yjiao@asianlan.umass.edu
Japanese (MA) Adam J Johnson ajjoh2@asianlan.umass.edu
Japanese (MA) Miriam Love Karavias mkaravias@asianlan.umass.edu
Japanese (MA) Hisako Kobayashi hkobayashi@acad.umass.edu
Japanese (MA) Hyang Gi Lim hglim@asianlan.umass.edu
Japanese (MA) Clare Emily Marks cemarks@asianlan.umass.edu
Japanese (MA) Saki Morikawa smorikaw@asianlan.umass.edu
Japanese (MA) Takumi Nakano
Japanese (MA) Emily Frances Porcher eporcher@student.umass.edu
Japanese (MA) Devin T Recchio drecchio@asianlan.umass.edu
Japanese (MA) David Thomas Reeves dreeves@asianlan.umass.edu
Japanese (MA) Bethany J Sherman bjsherman@asianlan.umass.edu
Japanese (MA) Samik Neil Sikand ssikand@asianlan.umass.edu
Japanese (MA) Emily Rose Waskiewicz ewaskiewicz@asianlan.umass.edu

Top

Whom should I contact in Asian Languages and Literatures?

Person

You should contact this person if you want information about..

Main Office

Graduate Program, financial matters, faculty request, etc.

Mary Ellen White Maynard

Undergraduate classes and course schedule, Declaration of Minor*

Elena Suet-Ying Chiu

Chinese Major and Minor, Declaration of* (Students last names start with A-L)

David K. Schneider

Chinese Major and Minor, Declaration of* (Students last names start with M-Z)

Stephen M. Forrest

Japanese Major and Minor, Declaration of* (Students last names start with A-L)

Reiko Sono

Japanese Major and Minor (Students last names start with M-Z),

Junior Year Writing Program

Five College Buddhist Studies Certificate Program

Zhongwei Shen

BA the Joint Major in Linguistics and Chinese

Yuki Yoshimura

BA the Joint Major in Linguistics and Japanese

Enhua Zhang

Chinese M.A. program (Graduate Program Director)

Amanda Seaman

Japanese M.A. program (Graduate Program Director)

Elena Suet-Ying Chiu Chinese Honors Program

Doris G. Bargen

Japanese Honors Program

Zhongwei Shen

Study abroad in China

Stephen M. Forrest

Study abroad in Japan

ChangYoung Park

Study abroad in Korea, Korean Program

Laurel Foster-Moore

Study abroad in Asia (IPO), Study abroad fair, Study abroad scholarships

Zhijun Wang

Chinese Language TAship

Undergraduate Chinese Language tutors

Yu Liu Chinese Language placement test in order to get credits/ to know your course level

Yuki Yoshimura

Japanese language placement test, Japanese Language TAship, Undergraduate Japanese language tutors

C. N. Le

Asian and Asian American Studies Certificate Program, Five Colleges Asian/Pacific/American Studies

Stephen Miller

The Asian Languages and Literatures Program (Program Director)

*Declaration of Minor Do It by Yourself! : During your final semester, fill out DECLARATION OF AN ACADEMIC MINOR FORM (print out from this link, or obtain from the Office of the Registrar in Whitmore Hall). Fill out the form and attach to it a copy of your unofficial transcript. Clearly mark/highlight the courses on your transcript that you wish to count toward your minor. Place the form and the transcript in an envelope and bring them to faculty assigned to you, based on the first letter of your last name (find out from above table. Please see Dr. Steve Forrest for Japanese Program). If the faculty is not there slide the envelope under the door. Once you have carried out these instructions, send the faculty an email to let the faculty know you have filed the documents in her/his office. The faculty will let you know by way of a reply to the email when the minor certification is complete and when you can pick up your form and transcript from them. Please let the faculty know if you have further questions or if you would like to meet to discuss any details.

Top