Links
Academics

Advising

Undergraduate Advisors

Majors must see their advisor in order to register for courses.

*Refer questions related to SPIRE to: Mary Maynard, Herter 418, maynard@umass.edu, 413-545-2807.

Chinese

Elena Suet-Ying Chiu
Undergraduate Major & Minor Advisor (students last name A-L)
Herter 333 | chiu@llc.umass.edu                      

David K. Schneider
Interim Undergraduate Major & Minor Advisor (students last name M-Z)
Herter 442 | dkschneider@asianlan.umass.edu   

Linguistics and Chinese

Zhijun Wang
Herter 337 | zhijunw@asianlan.umass.edu

Japanese

Steve Forrest
Herter 441 | sforrest@asianlan.umass.edu   

Linguistics and Japanese

Yuki Yoshimura
Herter 329 | yuki@asianlan.umass.edu

Korean

Chan Young Park
Herter 535 | cypark@llc.umass.edu


Graduate Program Directors

*Refer questions related to SPIRE to: Marc Cameron, Herter 440, office@asianlan.umass.edu, 413-545-0886.

Chinese

Zhongwei Shen
Herter 338 | zwshen@asianlan.umass.edu                         

Japanese

Bruce Baird
Herter 717 | baird@umass.edu 


Honors Program Directors

Chinese

Elena Suet-Ying Chiu
Herter 333 | chiu@llc.umass.edu

Japanese

Reiko Sono
Herter 329 | rsono@asianlan.umass.edu


Language Coordinators

Chinese

Zhijun Wang
Herter 337 | zhijunw@asianlan.umass.edu

Japanese

Yuki Yoshimura
Herter 329 | yuki@asianlan.umass.edu


Campus Advising Resources

Humanities & Fine Arts Advising Center (Academic Dean's Office)

E-20 Machmer Hall 413-545-6152

Visit the HFA Advising Center with questions regarding the following issues:

  • Adding or dropping courses, Late Withdrawal, Course Repeat
  • Pass/fail regulations
  • Implications of requesting an incomplete
  • Academic standing concerns
  • Appeals of academic suspensions or dismissals
  • Releasing semester and credit holds
  • Verification of satisfactory academic progress for Financial Aid
  • Requests to withdraw from the University
  • Credit Overload (to request an increase in your credit limit.)
  • Ten semester Limit Override

Career Services

Website: Career Services
Caroline L Gould, Assistant Director, Career Planning
clgould@acad.umass.edu
413-545-6257
Goodell Building, Rm 511