Skip navigation
University of Massachusetts Amherst

University of Massachusetts Amherst

W.E.B. Du Bois Department

Faculty - click on name to go to individual web page

John H. Bracey, Chair

Dania Francis (Econ/AfroAm)

A Yemisi Jimoh

Toussaint Losier

Karen Y. Morrison

Traci Parker

Britt Rusert

Amilcar Shabazz

Manisha Sinha, Graduate Program Director

James Smethurst

Steven C. Tracy



Evelyn Harris

Karla V. Zelaya


Affiliated UMass Africana Studies Faculty

Whitney Battle-Baptiste, Anthropology

Joye Bowman, History

Doris Clemmons, CMASS

Lisa Green, Linguistics

John Higginson, History

Terry Jenoure, Augusta Savage Art Gallery

Emily Lordi, English

Agustin Lao-Montes, Sociology

Laura Lovett, History

Rachel Mordecai, English

Robert Paynter, Anthropology

Hoang Phan, English

TreaAndrea Russworm, English

Demetria Shabazz, Communication

Joyce Vincent, Native American Studies

Mwangi wa Gĩthĩnji, Economics

For other faculty with related Afro-Atlantic/Black Diaspora emphases in the Five College community, see the African Studies Council faculty website:


Faculty Emeriti

Ernest Allen, Jr.

Josepheus "Femi" Richards

Archie Shepp

William Strickland

Esther M.A. Terry

Ekwueme Michael Thelwell

Robert Paul Wolff



Tricia Loveland, Administrative Assistant

Sharon Coney, Clerical Assistant